Nature Reserves, Mining, Plantations, Map
Click on the map to see a larger image !
|Car license numbers|
|B:Jakarta, Tangerang, Bekasi, Depok.|
D: Bandung, Cimahi.
E: Ceribon, Indramayu, Majalenka, Kuningan.
F: Bogor, Cianjur, Sukabumi.
T: Purwakarta, Karawang, Bekasi, Subang.
Z: Garut, Tasikmalaya, Sumedang, Ciamis, Banjar.
Minerals and Mining
|West Java produces excellent mine production. In 2006, it contributes 5,284 tons zeolite, 47,978 tons bentonite, iron sand, pozolan cement, feldspar, and jewel barn/ gemstone. Precious stone mining potential generally are found in Garut, Tasikmalaya, Kuningan, and Sukabumi Regency areas.|
|Kawah Ijen, Jawa Island (Java Island), Indonesia|
Marble quarry, Tulungagung
Gunung Pongkor Mine, Bogor District
Bandung Area Nature reserves
|Historic trip through the old city|
Jakarta has developed from the north to the south, seen in an historical way. Places of interest can best be visited in a chronogolical way. Start wirh the old harbour in the north, and then go south towards the old VOCV-headquarters (Kota) and the Chinese quarter (Glodok), to end the journey at Medan Merdeka (Freedom Square), or in one of the new suburbs. Take half a day for every part.
The old harbour
Batavia developed around the old spice-seaport of Sunda Kelapa. Nowadays it forms the northen part of Jakarta, where the Ciliwung mouths in the Jawa Sea. in 1619 the VOC founded a trading fortress at the eastern bank, ‘het Kasteel’ (the Castle), which was fortified with walls and 15 big bastions over the years.
The old watchtower ‘de Uitkijk’ (the View) on jalan Pakin was built in 1839 on bastion Culemborg (a small city in Holland nowadays), to guard the coastal waters. Later is also served as a weather station. Today you can still visit it, and enjoy a view over the entire area. Before 1619 on this spot there was the customs-office (‘pabean’ called Paap Jan by the Dutch) of Sunda Kelapa.
The old harbour, which was in use ever since the 12th century, stretches from north of the tower to across the river. On the west of the river the Dutch built a timber-shipyard in the 17th century. In 1817 this building was renovated and enlarged. This is also the place where the pinisi-ships are, one of the last big sailing commercial fleets of the world. On the rickety gangways carriers walk everywhere with sacks, boxes, cables, barrels and wood. The nice, hand-built boats are mored bow to bow, and belong to Jakarta’s picturesque places of interest. Travelers with a little adventure can negotiate here for a journey to other islands. Sulawesi can be reached in ten days if the winds are good.
On the western bank of the river, somewhat to the north of the guarding tower, there is the marine museum Bahari. It’s settled in the warehouses which were built by the VOC in 1652. Earlier a big variety of goods was stocked here, pepper, nutmeg, coffee, tea, copper and much more. In this beautifull complex of buildings some traditional sailers are being displayed, they give an impression of Indonesia’s history at sea.
Just in front of the museum the only remained massive city wall which surrounded Batavia can be found. Fout out of the fifteen bastions which surrounded ‘het Kasteel’ were square. They had names from precious stones like Diamant, Pearl, Ruby and Sapphire, to wich Batavia got it’s nickname ‘Kota Intan’, City of Jewels.
Behind the museum there is the big fish market, Pasar Ikan. Mainly the day’s heat is producing tremendous bad smell. Around it there is a true maze of little shops with shells, ship-goods, kitchen products, fishing-nets, model-ships and all kinds of old-fashioned stuff. Just like the early days it’s a constant coming and going of traders, kids, beggers and chess-players.
The part directly south and east of the harbour, also known as ‘Kota’, once formed the centre of a walled city. There are several remains of the times of the company. Between Kali Besar and jalan Kakap are the old VOC-shipyards and the Chinese warehouses. The 18th-century company shipyard was closed in 1809 because of unhealthy circumstances, but the ramshackle depot and the beautifull warehouses are still in use today, as well as four old warehouses on jalan Tongkrol (Mackerel Street).
These are not open for public. Futher south at jalan Nelayan Timur, there is a typical Dutch drawbridge. The Hoendermarktbrug (hen-bridge) is about 200 years old, and bridges the northern part of the Kali Besar. It was restaurated in the seventies, but is not in terrable state again. At Jalan Kali Besar Barat, south and west of the bridge, the former house of governor-general Van Imhoff, dating from 1730, can be found at number nine. The house is known as Toko Merah (Red House) and has beautifull Chinese woodcarvings, characteristic for the 18th century houses in Batavia. Now, it belongs to PT Dharma Niaga. The office of the Chartered Bank, on number three dated back to the same century. Both buildings can be visited during office hours.
The Fatahillah square
The centre of control in old-Batavia was located on some distance of the harhous at a square, which is now known as Taman Fatahillah. The founders of the city ordered a splendid cityhouse to be built. Square and buildings were restaurated between 1972 and 1975, part of a big project aimed on saving Jakarta’s historical places. The colonial buildings became museums.
The cityhouse, on the south of the square, houses the Museum Sejara Jakarta Fatahillah, an historical museum in which old maps and antiques from the colonial times are shown to the public. The 37 beautifull decorated rooms still have the atmosphere of the VOC-times. The cityhouse was rebuilt three times, the last time in 1710, and served at courthouse, city council and prison.
A big collection of wayang puppets from all over Indonesia is being displayed in the Wayang Museum, jalan Pinto besar Utara 27, at the west side if the Faatahillahsquare. In early ages the New Dutch Church was located here. This was replaced by warehouses in 1808. At the back gravestones from Dutch people from the comany-time can be seen.
In the former palace of justice the museum of Arts and Keramics (Balai Senu rupa Jakarta & Museum Keramik) is being housed. The building from 1870 is neoclassical and contains a collection antique porcelain which vice-Presicent Adam malik left to Jakarta, as well as modern Indonesian paintings.
Besides restaurant Fatahillah, at the north side of the square, the cannon of fertillity (Si Jagur) can be found. The Portuguese cannon was taken to Batavia after the conquest of Malaka in 1641. From the back of the cannon, a vist with it’s thumb between index finger and middle finger, a pose that is considerred obscene in Indonesia as well. Childless women have the habit to sit down on the barrel of the cannon, in the hope to get pregnant.
The quarter south of Fatahillah was redeveloped in the 19th and 20th century. An exeption was Gereja Sion, or the Portuguese church at jalan Pangeran Jayakarta, east of station Kota. The church was built by Mardijkers in 1695 (from ‘Merdeka’, which means independence), and people from Portuguese-Indian or African origin, which were taken to Batavia as slaves in the 17th century. At the end of the 17th century they got their freedom, when they went away from Catholicism and turned to Protestantism under pressure. The church, the oldest in Jakarta, orgininally had benches and copper chandlers.
The Chinese quarter Glodok
Chinese always played an important role in Indonesias economy. After the massacre of 1740, in which about 5000 Chinese were killed, the Chinese were appointed a special area south of the old city walls. It is now known as Glodok. The use of Chinese writing is allowed in Indonesia since shortly after the fall of Suharto in May 1998, but until then, signs which are representative for Chinatowns all over the world couldn’t be found here. Chinese architecture can be found everywhere in the network of small streets and alleys behind Glodok Plaza, filled with merchands, food stalls (warung-warung) and shops.
The Dharma Jaya temple of Jin-de Youan (Temple of the Golden Good) at jalan Petak Sembilan is one of the oldest and biggest Chinese religional places of Batavia. The temple was built around 1650, and was meant to honor Kuan Yin (Guanyin), the goddess of mercy. The temple Candra Naya, at jalan Gajah Mada 188, is housed in the former landhouse if merchand So Bing Kong. In 1619 he became leader of the Chinese community and intermediary between Chinese and the first three governors of the VOC. His gravetombe can be found in a house at Gang Taruna.
Many ‘Batavian’ Chinese became islamic before the 20th century and Glodok also has a number of old Chinese mosques. South of the National Archive, at the corner of jalan Hayam Wuruk en jalan Kebon Jeruk is the Kebon Jeruk-mosque, built in 1785 or 1786. The style of building is an extraordinary mixture of islamic, Chinese and Dutch influences. Another Chinese 18th-century mosque, Mesjid Krukut, is located at jalan Kebahagiaan, at the corner of jalan Kejayaan 1.
In the 18th century rich Europeans and Chinese settled outside the city walls in the big gardens in the south. At the place where jalan Gajah Mada and jalan Hayam Wuruk are today, they built big Dutch landhouses. The only remained one is at jalan Gajah Mada 111, in the nowadays city centre. It was built for Reinier de Klerk in 1760, the later governor-general. In 1844 it was rebuild into an orphanage and in 1925 it housed the country archive. In 1979 a restauration took place.
The quarter south of jalan Gajah Mada is also know as ‘Harmonie’ (Harmony), after the society with the same name, the biggest in South-East Asia. In 1979 it was demolished because traffic was expanding, a square was built at jalan Majapahit. Construction was started under governor-general Deandels (1808-1811). In 1815, during Stamford Raffles, the society was completed. The ‘Harmony’ became the meeting place for the rich elite of the colonial society.
At the other side of the traffic-square, at the corner, the earlier popular fashion designers Oger Frères worked. Their building, which is now a travel agency, was in the centre of the elegant, rich European-looking city, which developed in the 19th century. Only the statue of Hermes on the railing of the bridge does remind of that period. He is not watching the passing cars, and still holds his globe, which is degraded to a football.
The ‘Museum Nasional’, the National Museum at the west side of the square was founded in 1778 by the ‘Bataviaasch Genootschap van Kunsten en Wetenschappen’ (Batavian Society of Arts and Science), is the oldest in Indonesia. The building itself is in desparate need of a restauration, and also need an reorganisation. The showcases show numerous of treasures: the famous skull of the Jawa-man, the famous stones and bronze statues and inscriptions from the Hindu-Javanese period, the treasury room with golden and silver opjects, and the department bronze objects. The Ganesha Society organises interesting guided-tours in the morning. The first floor offers keramics from Chinas, Annam, Thailand, Persia and Euroe, the earlies collection of E.W. van Orsoy de Flines (1886-1964).
At the north of the Merdeka square two mayor presidential palaces are built. The most northern building is Istana Negara, the State palace, the former Palace Rijswijk. It was built in 1796 by Jacob Andries van Braam and server as residence of the governor-generals since 1820. Between 1873 and 1879 a new, bigger, palace was being built at the Koningsplein, now jalan Medan Merdeka Utara, ‘Paleis Koningsplein’ (‘Palace Kingssquare’). The official tranfer of sovereignty took place on 27 December 1949 took place in this palace. Since then, the palace is called Istana Merdeka, Palace of Independence. Officialy it’s the residence of the current President, but it is not used for that purpose. Suharto, in his time, preferred his house in Menteng area.
Between Wilhelminapark and Menteng
More to the south, at the corner of Jalan Pejambon, the Gereja Imanuel is located, the former calvinistic Willemskerk, named after king Willem I. The neo-classical building was built between 1835 and 1839, to a design of J.H. Horst. It offers a wide variety of old Dutch silver. In the more southern Menteng, just across Hotel Aryaduta Hyatt at Jalan Ptrepatan, is the All Saints Church (English Church) from 1829, with nice decorated windows.
Between the cathedral and Hotel Borobudur is Lapangan Banteng (Buffalo Field), the former Waterlooplein (Square Waterloo), with an enormous statue of a handcoffed man which breaks his chains. It was built from molten Dutch coins to order of Sukarno in 1963, to rememberance of the liberation of Irian Jaya. Until 1820 landhouse Weltevreden could be found south of the Waterlooplein, it belonged to governor-general Mossel. In 1857, the military hospital was built, which is still in use as military hospital as of today. East of the square, now Lapangan Benteng Timur, Deandels started with the construction of a palace, ‘het Witte Huis'(the White House), the Department of Finance today. besides the neo-classical Mahkamah Agung or higher court, which dates back to 1848. At Jalan Taman Pejambon is Gedung Pancasila. This neo-classical buiolding from 1829 served as headquarters of the KNIL, and after 1917 as seat of the Volksraad (People’s Council). Because Sukarno did his famous Pancasila-speech in this building, it was declared an national monument later on. North of Lapangan Banteng is Gedong Kesenian, the former municipal theathre from 1821. After the war a cinema was built, but after a good restauration the building got it’s original destination back. The Pasar Baru or Nieuwmarkt (New Market), is on the other side of the canal. In the many shops everything is for sale, from textile to computers.
Menteng, south of Medan Merdeka, is a big, quiet, green quarter with colonial houses, modern expensife villa’s and embassies. The diplomats and CEO’s live in this area. Right through the heart of Menteng is Jalan Diponegoro, the most expensife street in Jakarta. At side street of Jalan Surabaya is a flee market with numerous stalls full with ántiques’, the most new imitations and all kinds of other things.
In the quarter Pasar Minggu, at the southern border of Jakarta, about 15 kilometres from the city’s centre, Ragunan zoo is located. In this nature park, opened from 9.00 to 18.00, it’s nice to have a walk or a picnic between all kinds of flora and fauna. Weekends are usually overcrowded.
Another busy Sunday place to be in the southern part of the city is Taman Mini Indonesia Indah (Nice Indonesia Miniature Park), a park of 100 hectares in which all different building styles from all over the archipelago are displayed. Start with Keong Mas, the form of a extraordinary snails house, for a magnificent journey on film through Indonesia on a giant screen. The park also offers a museum, an orchid garden and a birdpark.
Kebun Raya Bogor
|The small, but fast growing city of Bogor ( 300,000 inhabitants ) is located 60 km south of Indonesia’s capital Jakarta, at the base of the Gunung Salak vulcano. Bogor is located at an altitude of 260 metres, which causes it to be remarable cooler than the coastal area’s. It’s a good place to escape the heat and chaos of Jakarta. That’s the same as what the Ducht governor-general Van Imhoff though; in 1745 he built his own refuge in this picturesque place, which he suitable called ‘Buitenzorg’.|
Bogor is known for it’s botanical gardens which are located just behind the beautifull 19th-century Presidential Palace. The city also has an official world record ( 300 days with thundershowers in one year ), two important inscriptions in stones and one of the last gamelan-workshops on Jawa.
The old royal residence
One of the oldest – known- kingdoms of Indonesia, the Hinduist Tarumanagara from the 5th century, was probably located near Bogor. In the area a number of inscriptions has been found, under them a remarkable one which still can be seen in Ciampea, 15 km west of the city. It’s a big stone in a riverbank which contains several lines of Indian style inscriptions, and two king-size footprinte, which should have been from the conqueror and king Purnawarman.
A replica of the stone can be found in the Fatahillah Museum in Jakarta. The name of the kingdom seems to have close ties with the river which runs through the Bandung Basin east of Bogor to the coast, the River Citarum. Because the inscriptions were found here, historicans concluded the capital of Tarumanagara should have been here, also because it’s a good place for defence, and it also provides entry to the fertile hinterlands andthe nearby trading harbours at the Sunda Strait.
A later batutulis ( batu; stone and tulis; writing ) was found in Bogor in Jalan Batutulis, aproximately two kilometres Southwest of the botanical gardens. This inscription tells about the influence of king Surawisesa of Pajajaran in 1533, an important Hindu-king.
Like most other Sundanese places of historical value, there are no architectural remains to be found. This does people think that temples and other structures were built from wood, or just from stone, but they did re-use the stones for later buildings in the area.
The holy inscriptions are still being honoured meanwhile. Sukarno ordered the construction of a house very close to the batutulis, because of it’s mystical powers. He even wanted to be buried there, but this wish was not fullfilled.
The city grow around the house of ‘Buitenzorg’, and became a popular place among the Dutch because of the unhealthy living conditions in Batavia. Raffles lived in the house from 1811 to 1816. From 1870 to 1942 it was extended and restaurated and it became the residence of the Dutch governor-generals.
Since the independence Istana Bogor is one of the five official residences of the President. Suharto didn’t want to spend his time there, but Sukarno liked to; it is said that is ghost is still living there, between an impressive collection of art, the most sensual objects carefully hidden away. An hord of stained deers, imported from the Netherlands as food for official diners, is now living decoration of the 24 hectare domain.
Proposed World Heritage
Great Mosque of Demak Central Java
|Date of Submission: 19/10/1995|
Submission prepared by:
Directorate General for Culture
Masjid Agung Demak (or the Great Demak Mosque) is one of the oldest mosques in Indonesia, located in the center town of Demak, Central Java Indonesia. The mosque is believed to be built by the Wali Songo (the nine pious religious leaders) during the first Demak Sultanate ruler, Raden Patah during the 15th century.
This mosque is the proof of glory achieved by the Demak Bintoro kingdom as the first Islamic kingdom in Java island.
Masjid Agung Demak is the classic example of a traditional Javanese mosque. Unlike mosques in the Middle East it is built from timber. The tiered roof is supported by four enormous teak pillars. This means that the mosque is rather small when compared to many modern Indonesian mosques. The tiered roof shows many similarities with wooden religious structures from the Hindu-Buddhist civilizations of Java and Bali. The main entrance of Masjid Agung Demak consists of two doors carved with motifs of plants, vases, crowns and an animal head with an open wide-toothed mouth. It is said that picture depicts the manifested thunder caught by Ki Ageng Selo, hence their name “Lawang Bledheg” (the doors of thunder).
The Carving and Historical Relics of Masjid Agung Demak
The carvings at Lawang Bledheg are also interpreted according to chronogram based on lunar calculation as “Naga mulat salira wani” which means Saka Year 1388 or A.D. 1466 as the year in which Masjid Agung Demak existed.
The front wall of the mosuqe is inset with sixty-six porcelain tiles. These exquisite blue and white tiles are believed to derive from Champa in modern-day Vietnam, a kingdom with which Demak’s former rival Majapahit had extensive trade contacts. According to some reports, these tiles were stolen from the palace of the Sultan of Majapahit and later added to the mosque.
Masjid Agung Demak has many historical remainders and unique things, such as Saka Tatal; Maksurah; Dhampar Kencana/pulpit; Saka Majapahit; etc. Besides that in the environment of Masjid Agung Demak there are also graves of the sultans of Demak and a museum.
Ujon Kolon Birdwatching
|Duration: 6 DAYS / 5 NIGHTS|
GROUP SIZE: 1 – 5 people
Best Visit Season: April – September
Day 01 : JAKARTA – TAMAN JAYA
UJUNG KULON NATIONAL PARK
|Duration: 06 DAYS / 05 NIGHTS|
Day 01: JAKARTA – SUMUR – TAMAN JAYA
Wayang Windu Geothermal Plant, Java, Indonesia
Announcement of contract
1997 (Unit 1)
Start of operation
2000 (Unit 1) and 2009 (Unit 2)
110MW (Unit 1)
117MW (Unit 2)
Wayang Windu geothermal field near Pangalengan in West Java, Indonesia
More than 1,500 workers at production peak
A second turbine-generator unit has been added to the Wayang Windu geothermal field in West Java, Indonesia. The 117MW unit more than doubles the plant’s output, adding to the existing 110MW turbine. At a total cost of around US$200m, Wayang Windu is now the largest geothermal power plant in Indonesia. The field is itself Indonesia’s largest geothermal development, and one of the largest in the world.
At the peak of construction of Unit 2, there were more than 1,500 workers on site. The unit was powered up to 30MW in December 2008, selling its first electricity into the PLN (Perusahaan Listrik Negara) West Java high voltage grid. Full commercial operation began in March 2009. Another two units are planned to come on stream by 2010, bringing the total plant capacity to 500MW at an additional cost of around US $450m.
Star Energy acquired the 110MW Wayang Windu geothermal plant in November 2004. It owns the plant through its 100%-owned subsidiary Magma Nusantara Limited (MNL). MNL appointed Maunsell to provide engineering review, design and supervision consulting services for Unit 2 construction and development, excluding the geothermal wells themselves. Maunsell also provided support for administration and cost management, QA/QC, certification of construction status, sub-surface advisory services, and training.
Much of the preparation and infrastructure works for Unit 2 was completed as part of Unit 1 development between 1997 and 2000. Besides the 117MW geothermal turbine generator unit, Unit 2 has auxiliary plant including condenser, cooling tower, non-condensable gas extraction facilities and H2S removal system. A steam above-ground pipeline system (SAGS) connects the new geothermal wells to the turbine. The plant-wide distributed control system has also been extended and integrated.
Unit 1 began operation in 2000, with power equipment supplied by Fuji Electric Co. At the time, the 110MW turbine was the world’s largest single cylinder machine. There are two-phase fluid pipelines with central separators, and integrated pressure control. Since startup, the generator has supplied 110MW at night and 105MW in the day into the State Electricity Company PLN’s grid.
The plant uses flash steam technology, with the steam generating electricity by driving the turbine directly. The steam is produced at more than 300°C, and contains virtually no pollutant gasses or CO2. Wayang Windu is the world’s most efficient geothermal facility. The first Unit 2 development well MBD-5 was also found to be the largest dry steam well in the world at more than 40MW.
MNL has a Joint Operating Contract with Pertamina Geothermal Energy (PGE), and an Energy Sales Contract with Pertamina and PLN to supply up to 400MW to PLN for 30 years. The plant feeds Java, Madura and Bali.
The Plant is located in Pangalengan 40 Km South of Bandung
Proposed World Heritages
Kampong Naga (Dragon Village) West Java
|Criteria Requirements – Heritage|
1. Uniqueness and characteristics of heritage Natural Heritage
1.1 Significance of ecological systems and natural habitats.
Kampong Naga is located in the highlands characterized by river, hills and valleys. Kampong Naga is administratively bordered by Garut-Tasikmalaya road in the south, Cipalontang Village in the North, Ciwulan river in the east and Bukit Naga (Dragon Hills) in the west. Ciwulan river and the preserved forest formed a natural border with other villages.
1.2 Undisturbed environments or environments demonstrating natural process at work.
Geographically Kampong Naga is located in a fertile valley beside Ciwulan river with the altitude of 1200 meters above sea level. The climates varied between 21º-23º Celsius and humidity 75%-85%. The monthly average rainfalls between 289 mm to 3468 mm this provides Kampong Naga with enough water supplies all year round
1.3 Existence of rare and unique species present at the site
There is an endemic type of bamboo trees growing in Kampong Naga that is called awi tali or rope bamboo. This type of bamboo tree can be transformed to a strong rope and provide the villagers with materials for housing and daily lives (weaved bamboos is widely used for household apparels) and also can be produced as handicrafts for sale.
1.4 Significance of the existing cultural and historical resources.
Kampong Naga is a traditional village that is bonded by traditional values shown in their rituals, houses, housing lay-out, family bonds, and art forms.
Kampong Naga residence is Sundanese and they strongly believe that Eyang Singaparna or the grand old man is their ancestor and founder of the village. Eyang Singaparna also known as Sembah Dalem Singaparna or Eyang Galunggung. His grave lies in a hill near Kampong Naga and considered sacred by the native Naga residence (sa-naga).
The chief of Kampong Nagai called Kuncen (the key holder), he acts as the highest leader helped by a Lebe Naga for marital affairs and Punduh Naga for external affairs.
Family bonds in Kampong Naga based on bilateral and parental relationship referring to either father and mother line. They identified 7 levels of generation both upwards and downwards.
Upwards: 1. Kolot/sepuh (parents), 2. Embah/eyang (grandparents, 3. Buyut (great grandparents), 4. Bao, 5. Jangga wareng, 6. Udeg-udeg, 7. Kait Siwur/gantang siwur.
Downwards: 1. Anak (children), 2.Incu/putu (grandchildren), 3. Buyut (great grandchildren), 4. Bao, 5. Jangga wareng, 6. Udeg-udeg, 7. Gantung siwur/wait.
The inhabited areas of Kampong Naga is surrounded by double bamboo fence of 1.5 meters high called kandang jaga (security cage), which also functioned as borderline between sacred and profane areas.
Kampong Naga inhabitants earn a living by farming and grow fish in fish ponds around their village and in the river by building fish cages.
Hajat Sasih is an ancestor-worship ceremony to ask blessings, soundness and express gratitude to God almighty. It is held by visiting the ancestor grave (Eyang Singaparna).
Ngikis is a ceremony to replace the fence of Eyang Singaparna’s grave.
Pedaran is held once in 8 years to tell and unveil the history and custom of Kampong Naga, carried out in the Islam month of Maulud on 13-14.
* Signage /panel
Local and central government helped by the private sector have provided signage, brochures and other tourism promotion materials to help develop Kampong Naga as a tourist attraction.
Provision of appropriate and sufficient waste management system.
The local government have also upgrade the originally village path to become an enjoyable scenic path that connects the village with the parking lot which lies beside the main road.
While on-site, visitors can find parking lot, souvenir shop, and accommodation just outside the village.Kampong Naga itself is restricted from providing those facilities to keep its original environment.